Personalities Plus — Mary Blakley

Mary Blakley recalls rather fondly growing up in a Christian setting with stepsiblings.

What’s your idea of a perfect day?
“To enjoy 10 hours of God’s beauty through nature.”

What did you think about on Sept. 11?
“The dangers our country faces around the world.”

Tell us about your pet(s):
“Two cats.”

What is your theme song?
“ ‘How Great Thou Art.’ ”

What would you like printed on your gravestone?
“Name, date of birth, date of death.”

Who’s invited to your fantasy dinner party, and why?
“My Sunday school class of mature women. They are such loving people.”

What do you think about Portales?
“A wonderful place.”

Tell us about a time you cried:
“When my 6-week-old baby girl died.”

Tell us about a happy time:
“When my grandchildren were born.”

Tell us a story about your childhood:
“I grew up at a time when we had to provide our own entertainment. As my mother prepared dinner each Sunday for 15 to 20 children and youth, we would get in the pasture to play ball, roll tires, etc. When my mother remarried, I had three half-brothers and several stepbrothers and stepsisters. My family, our family and your family. I had a wonderful childhood.”

Tell us a story about your mom or dad:
“My father died before I was born. My mother took care of me and two brothers for six years. Then she remarried and I had a wonderful stepfather.”

What do you envision your life being like in 10 years?
“An old, old woman.”

When you were a kid, what did you think you’d be doing as an adult?
“My mother insisted on me getting a good education, so I thought I would be a teacher.”

If money were no object, what would you do to make the world a better place?
“I would present the message of Jesus Christ to every person on earth. Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.”

Where is your son, Duane?
“Duane is in Hot Springs, Ark. as a music director in a church. This has been his life work serving in Garland, Texas, for 27 years as a music director in a church.”

Who is your hero and why?
“My mother. She raised three children under very difficult circumstances for six years.”

Tell us about your greatest individual accomplishment:
“The hundreds of hours I have dedicated to volunteer services and reaching hundreds of people. I would like other people to have the same opportunities I have had.”

If I could do anything, I would …
“Find a cure for all diseases — especially for children.”

What is your greatest fear?
“Claustrophobia.”

What is your greatest hope?
“Good health.”

What is your favorite taste?
“Chocolate.”

What is your favorite smell?
“Vanilla candles.”

Tell us about a time you were afraid:
“When I was a small child, coyotes would howl around the chicken house. My mother would go outside and bark like a dog to scare them away. I was always afraid the coyotes would get in our house.

What’s your favorite part about your job?
“Such a pleasure to do what I do in my home, at my own speed.”

What do you not like about your job?
“Everything.”

Tell us about your first date:
“We attended a party in the Rogers community in a private home. We married in 1933, settled on a farm in the Rogers community and have been here ever since.”

Tell us how you met your spouse:
“We were attending a skating party at the skating rink where the C/S Oil Company used to be, we were partners among the group of youth. This was about in 1932.”

What is your most prized possession?
“Photographs and six large scrapbooks, and the many certificates and plaques I have received through the years.”
— Compiled By Loretta Kos