Minister enjoys quiet days

Name: J.R. “Dick” Ross
Job: Funeral service intern at Wheeler Mortuary and Baptist minister
Born: Nov. 15, 1941
Hometown: Pine Bluff, Ark.
Family: Wife, Norma; children, Sandra Chancey, Ronald Glen and two in the U.S. Navy, Richard T. and Randal Allen.

What’s your idea of a perfect day?
“A nice quiet day in the mountains without a telephone”

What did you think about
on Sept. 11?
“I was in complete shock. I couldn’t believe it was happening.”

Tell us about your pets:
“My pets — a beautiful wife, four great kids, three grandsons and a dog named Patches.”

What is your theme song?
“Victory in Jesus.”

What would you like printed
on your gravestone?
“Quiet! Man at rest — no cell phones or pagers.”

Who is invited to your fantasy
dinner party, and why?
“All my friends. What’s a party without friends?.”

Who is your favorite
entertainer?
“Mark Lowry and the Gaithers.”

What do you think about Portales?
“Portales is a great place to live and raise your kids.”

What’s your favorite TV
show, past and present?
“The Carol Burnett Show and I Love Lucy. Most of the current shows I don’t care for.”

Tell us about a happy time:
“When our entire family is together..”

What was your most
embarrassing moment?
“One was when I went to eat lunch and discovered the entire seam in the seat of my pants was out..”

What’s so great about your
favorite sport?
“I don’t have to play in the football game.”

Tell us about a time you cried:
“When I was told my daughter would die. She didn’t, then I cried for joy.”

Tell us a story about your
childhood:
“I was born at a very early age.”
Tell us a story about your
childhood:
“I was born at a very early age.”

What did you envision your
life being like in 10 years?
“Retired — and going from getting old to being old.”

What did you think you would
end up doing when you were a
kid?
“I envisioned myself being a doctor, just like my grandfather.”

Who is your hero and why?
“Right now, my hero is George Bush. He is a president with enough intestinal fortitude to actually try to make a difference.”

Tell us about your greatest
individual accomplishment:
“Marrying my wife, raising four hard-working children and graduating from seminary.”

If I could do anything, I would …
“Just keep on doing what I’m doing.”

What is your greatest fear?
“What kind of world my grandchildren will have to deal with when they grow up.”

What is your greatest hope?
“Jesus’ coming back.”

What’s your favorite taste?
“Chocolate and lemon ice box pie.”

What’s your favorite smell?
“Flowers in my yard — roses and petunias.”

What’s your favorite part about
your job?
“Being able to help hurting families.”

What’s your least favorite part
about your job?
“Sometimes the work hours get long and hard.”

Tell us about your first date:
“It was so long ago I don’t remember it. I guess I had one.”

Tell us how you met your
spouse:
“At Eastern New Mexico University at the Baptist Student Center.”

— Compiled by Loretta Kos