Man makes friends selling realty

Name: Ken Bedinger

Job: Real estate broker, appraiser and instructor

Age and (birth date): 60 (June 3, 1943)

Hometown: Portales

Family: Wife Sandy; son Brett; daughter Sonja Sanders.

What do you think of Portales?
“I am fortunate in that I was able to find a profession that allowed me to stay in Portales. I consider myself lucky that I am able to live here. A city is just buildings and asphalt. The real quality of a town is the people, and Portales has the best.”

What’s your idea of a perfect day?
“That has to do with the weather and the activity. A perfect day for me is a typical beautiful day here that I have spent arrowhead hunting.”

What is your fondest memory of Portales?
“That would probably be the years that I spent at Eastern New Mexico University both as a student and instructor.”

Who’s invited to your dinner party and why?
“I would invite all of my friends and family because I enjoy being around them.”

Who are your favorite entertainers?
“Leonard Leary and Terry Christesson. Being around them is a laugh a minute.”

What is your favorite TV show, past and present?
“Past X-files, present Stargate SG1.”

What’s so great about your favorite sport?
“My favorite sport is volleyball. I like it because both sexes can play it together.”

What do you envision your life being like in 10 years?
“I hope that I am still doing what I am doing now. If you love your work you are technically retired. If you define retirement as being able to do what you want to do when you want to do it, and have the money to do it. Then, I have been retired for the past 34 years.”

What is your greatest fear?
“In July of 2003, I was diagnosed with Colon cancer. A surgeon in Lubbock removed a grapefruit size cancer from my Colon. Unfortunately it had spread to my liver. The surgeon said that I had pea- to grape-sized cancer lesions covering both sides of my liver and there were hundreds of them. His indirect recommendation was to get my affairs in order. He said, ‘I don’t know if I would even take chemo(therepy) if I were you.’ The chemo doctor said that without treatment that I would probably not live more than six months to a year.”
“A lot of prayers from everywhere, some rain forest herbs introduced to me by Ralph Harvey, and six chemo treatments later; after a cat scan about four weeks ago, the High Plains Regional Medical Center oncologist in Clovis said that he had never seen a more remarkable recovery. My cancer lesions were down to four. After going through life threaten cancer, I suppose that I don’t have any personal fears. I have unshakeable faith whatever the outcome.”

What is your greatest hope?
“My greatest hope would be that my children would be happy and prosper. My son is facing a possible deployment to Iraq in the near future with the New Mexico National Guard. My greatest hope for him would be that he comes back.”

What is your favorite smell?
“The smell of a fresh cut watermelon has to be my favorite.”

What would you like printed on your gravestone?
“Anything is possible.”

What’s your theme song?
“Help me Lord, I have wasted it so; Help me Jesus, I am what I am.”

What is your favorite taste?
“Cinnamon.”

What do you like best about your job?
“The people you meet. The best friends that I have in this world are people that I have sold real estate to. I am talking about the kind of friends that you can call at 2 in the morning to come and get you when your car has broken down.”

What is the least favorite part of your job?
“When you are self employed, it is hard for you to get away, even though you can any time that you want to. I guess that you would say commitment to your job is hard on vacations.”

Tell us about your parents:
“My parents on both sides were New Mexicans because of the Homestead Act. Both sets of my grandparents came to New Mexico in the early 1900’s to homestead of quarter section of land. There are not may of them left. My dad passed away in 2000. My mother, Lillie Faulkenbery, lives in Portales and is still going strong.”

Tell us about your first date:
“I really did not date in High School. It was mostly meeting a girl at a dance rather than a formal date. I suppose the first date was as a freshman in college. It was a date to the Sadie Hawkins Dance at ENMU.”

Tell us about your pets:
“I love dogs, and have three to prove it. I would probably have more but three is all that I can walk at one time. Even that becomes a burden sometimes when they have me wrapped up like a package. My favorite dog is Baby. She is a cross between a Chow and a Golden Retriever, and weighs about 80 pounds. She is 11 years old and the sweetest dog in the world. My other two are Pepper (half Border Collie and half Healer) and another full blood Border Collie named Six-Bits.”

If you could do one thing and money were no object, what would you do?
“I would probably buy a ranch that had great artifact hunting and would use it as a weekender once or twice a month.”

What would be your greatest hope for Portales?
“For the immediate future that we would have some rain. For long term that Portales would continue to grow and attract new industry.”