Personalities Plus: Todd Moore

Name: Todd Moore
Job: Police Officer
Age: 36
Hometown: Originally from Las Cruces
Occupation: Law Enforcement
Family: Married with children
Hobbies: Good books, good movies and spending time with my family.

What do you think of Portales?
“I like the small town atmosphere/ close knit community and it’s a great place in which to raise children. I know a lot of people who say they would like life in a larger city, but I think life is what you make of it no matter where you live.”

What do you visualize your life being like in 10 years?
“It seems hard enough to just live today.”

Tell us about your parents:
“My parents are both educators. My father went on to become a principal, but has recently retired and relocated into Roosevelt County with his wife. My mother still resides and works within the education system in Las Cruces. They taught me a lot and I love them dearly.”

What is your greatest hope?
“I hope in some way – some how – to make a difference in someone else’s life and they in turn will help someone else. The ‘pay it forward’ theory.”

When you were a kid, what did you think you would be doing as an adult?
“I grew up wanting to be in law enforcement and as I have fulfilled that goal, I would call this my greatest individual accomplishment.”

If I could do anything I would…
“I would love to travel the U.S. and write a book.”

What is your favorite TV show, past and present?
“Past: Adam 12. Present: Third Watch. I am also a dedicated news and Weather channel fan.”

What is your favorite book?
“A book that I have recently read and consider a favorite is the life story of Bernard Kerik in ‘The Lost Son.’”

If I could be a superhero, what would your name and powers be?
“Riddle me this, riddle me that, who’s afraid of the big black bat?”

What’s your favorite smell?
“Vanilla.”

What would you like printed on your gravestone?
“I want to be cremated.”

What’s your idea of a perfect day?
“When a crime gets solved, a victim gets justice, and I go home not stressed out.”

What do you like about your job?
“I like the diversity that comes with law enforcement and the ever changing work day. Working with the other affiliated agencies, weather it be with other law enforcement agencies or the District Attorneys Office, APO (Adult Probation Office) or CYFD (Children Youth and Family Division) and JPO (Juvenile Probation Office). I like the feeling of comradeship and knowing that we all share the same goals and objectives.”

Tell us about your spouse:
“My wife and I have been married for 12 years. She works for Wal-Mart and is dedicated to both her job and family. I couldn’t imagine life without her. She’s been so supportive of me and my career. She takes care of everything when I’m unable to.”

Tell about a time when you were nervous.
“I think I’m always nervous.”

If you could redo one moment in life, what would it be? Why?
“There are no redos in life. That’s why we have to be careful what we do with the present.”

Name one thing you like about yourself. Why?
“I am a bit on the quiet side, but I find that it works to my benefit.”

— Compiled by Laurie Stone