Personalities Plus: William Mauping

Your name: William Maupin
Your job: work at Abengoa, the Ethanol Plant
Your age (and Birth Date): August 23, 1973 – I’m 31 years -old
Your hometown: I was raised in House
Occupation: Load Master
Your family: Wife – Darla Maupin, Daughters; Jessica (15) and Montana (14) and son; Colby (13).
Your Hobbies and groups you are involved with, volunteer work: We attend Victory Life Church and are active in helping wherever we’re needed.

What do you think of Portales?
“I enjoy living in Portales. The people here have been friendly (except for the three or four old grouches) and I see a lot of opportunity here.”

What do you visualize your life being like in 10 years?
“My hope is to help children from broken homes (abused children or children of single parents) full time.”

Tell us about your parents:
“My parents live north west of Melrose. Mom owns a tax service business in Fort Sumner. My father’s a rancher. They’re my role models and mentors.”

Who is someone you admire in life? Why?
“I look up to my father the most because he always knows the right reaction in a situation and never compromises.”

What is your greatest hope?
“I hope to be a good role model for my spouse and kids by not letting them down.”

If money were no object, what would you do to make the world a better place?
“It doesn’t take money to make the world a better place. If people would take care of their own problems rather than looking for someone to gossip to or about, the world would be a better place. I don’t think people know the damage rumors do to marriages and friendships whether they’re true or not. If they knew the damage, they would stop gossiping and try to help.”

Tell us about your greatest individual accomplishment:
“My greatest accomplishment is when I became the children’s pastor at Victory Life.”

When you were a kid, what did you think you’d be doing as an adult?
“I wanted to ranch until I retired.”

If I could do anything, I would…
“I would win the lottery and retire, but they tell me you have to play to win. I definitely would retire to help kids.”

Tell us about a happy time:
“It was nine years ago when I married my wife and children.”

What is your favorite TV show? Why do you relate to it?
“Past favorite was the Dukes of Hazards and my current is According to Jim.”

What is your favorite book and why?
“My favorite book is the Bible because it show us so much about our past, present and future and how to deal with our circumstances.”

What’s your favorite smell?
“I like the smell of a fresh cut alfalfa field.”

What’s your favorite song? Why?
‘‘‘Common Many’ by John Connely. It’s describes being happy as a normal person.”

What’s your idea of a perfect day?
“A day with my family and friends and steaks on the grill.”

What do you like about your job?
“I can be around people or I have the option to not be around them and, it’s really a lot of fun.”

Tell us about your spouse:
“My wife is wonderful and works hard to finish up what I leave unfinished. She take care of things.”

Tell us about a time your were nervous:
“I get nervous anytime I have to get in front of people.”

If you could redo one moment in life, what would it be? Why?
“It would be my entire childhood. When I was younger, I didn’t show much respect for authority and now, as a parent, I see how much this had to of hurt my parents.”

Name one thing you like about yourself. Why?
“I like that I haven’t forgotten the things I’ve been through in life, which makes it easier to help others in similar situations.”
— Compiled by Laurie Stone