Levin content with librarian role

Your name: Stephanie Levin
Your job: Youth Services Librarian
Your age: 36; Aug. 4, 1968
Your hometown: Roy, Utah
Your family: Brian (husband), Rachel (4), and Megan (6 mo.)
Your hobbies and groups you are involved with, volunteer work: I really enjoy reading, cooking and working on projects.

What do you think of Portales?
“Portales is a nice place to live. The area is quiet and relatively safe and the people are friendly. I’ve never lived in a place where strangers wave to you when they drive by.”

What do you visualize your life being like in 10 years?
“I would be happy doing what I’m doing now. I enjoy my job and raising my children.”

Tell us about your parents:
“No one could have asked for better parents. They are both loving and caring people who were always there for my sister and I growing up and still are today.

What is your greatest hope?
“I hope that my children will grow up to be happy, healthy and responsible people.”

If money were no object, what would you do to make the world a better place?
“Give everyone a chance to receive a good education.”

Tell us about your greatest individual accomplishment:
“Overcoming incredible shyness as a young girl. Not being able to say or do what I wanted was very hard. A friend in high school asked me to join a musical with her and I did. From then on, I never let a little embarrassment stop me.”

When you were a kid, what did you think you’d be doing as an adult?
“When I was a little girl, I saw the movie Hatari starring John Wayne. I knew I wanted to live in Africa and catch animals just like him.”

If I could do anything, I would…
“Relearn to play the violin. I could do it, but sometimes things are easier said than done.”

Tell us about a happy time:
“When I was eighteen I didn’t want to go on a camping trip with my family. It was my father’s birthday so I finally said I would go. It turned out to be the best time because it was before our families changed with marriages, children and so on.”

What is your favorite TV show?
“Right now I enjoy watching the Apprentice. It’s interesting to watch people’s professional manner. By the end of the show I’m usually razzled by someone’s behavior.”

What is your favorite book and why?
“Out of Africa” by Isak Dinesen. It was beautifully written about her experiences in Africa at a time when a woman wasn’t so independent.”

If you could go on an adventure, what would it entail?
“I would like to travel the world and see the places I’ve read about from the ruins of Athens to the outbacks of Australia. With first class camping underneath the stars.”

What would you like printed on your gravestone?
“Loving wife and mother.”

What is your favorite song?
“Amazing Grace. It’s a very powerful song with an inspiring story behind it.”

What’s your idea of a perfect day?
“A perfect day would entail no rushing around, being able to finish what I’ve started, no dinner dishes, a bubble bath and time to relax.”

What do you like about your job?
“I enjoy working with the children and also being able to use my imagination and creativity. Not too many jobs let you dress up as a pirate and make treasure maps.”

Tell us about your spouse:
“My husband serves in the U.S. Air Force, which I’m very proud, of He is a funny, caring man and a wonderful father.”

Tell about a time you were nervous:
“The times when my kids were in the hospital. There is nothing worse than feeling helpless.”

If you could redo one moment in life, what would it be?
“I would have told my sister, ‘I love you’ once more. She meant the world to me.”

Name one thing you like about yourself?
“I like that I try to see the better in people and situations. Life is hard enough without all the cynicism.”
— Compiled by Laurie Stone