Higgs likes to help people communicate

Your name: Felicia Higgs
Your job: I provide speech and language services for students in grades 9-12
Your age (and Birth Date): I am 27 years old. My birthdate is December 24, 1977.
Your hometown: Gladewater, Texas
Occupation: Speech-Language Pathologist
Your family: My husband, a 7-year old son, and twins on the way!
Your Hobbies and groups you are involved with, volunteer work:
“I am involved with the Officer’s Spouses Club at Cannon AFB. I also love to read and spend time with my family.”

What do you think of Portales?
“I think Portales is a small, but friendly town. I enjoy being able to get around town quickly.” 

What do you visualize your life being like in 10 years?
“I would like to be happy, healthy, and financially stable in 10 years.” 

Tell us about your parents:
“My mother is a loving person who will do anything for me and my son. She is disabled physically, but she always tries to help my family.”

Who is someone you admire in life? Why?
“I admire my mother because she taught me how to be a kind, educated, and a happy woman.” 

What is your greatest hope?
“I hope that America will always be a democratic and free country!” 

If money were no object, what would you do to make the world a better place?
“I would make sure that every person had a nice home, a secure job, and money to spend.”

Tell us about your greatest individual accomplishment:
“My greatest achievement was getting my Bachelor’s and Master’s degree after having a child.”

When you were a kid, what did you think you’d be doing as an adult?
“As a kid, I always dreamed of being a teacher. Well, at least I work in a school system with teachers.”

If I could do anything, I would…
“If I could do anything, I would end sickness, disease, and murder.” 

Do you have children? Have they influenced your life?
“I have a smart, funny, and kind son named Devon. He is 7 years old and in the first grade at Steiner Elementary. He has influenced my life in many ways. Because of him, I value humor and patience. Everyday I try to be the best mom and person that I can be. I also have two babies on the way!”

Tell us about a happy time:
“When my son, my husband and I found out that we would be extending our family. We went to the doctor together when we found out that we were having twins.”

What is your favorite TV show? Why do you relate to it?
“My favorite TV show is Girlfriends. I relate to this show because it is about African American women trying to live life as happily and positively as possible.”

What is your favorite book?
“My favorite book is ‘The Color Purple’ by Alice Walker It is a novel about an abused and uneducated black woman’s struggle for empowerment. The novel is full of female characters and uses black English vernacular.”

If you could go on an adventure, what would it entail?
“I would love to go around the world and learn about the different people and cultures.” 

What’s your favorite smell?
“I love to smell hot pizza.” 

What do you enjoy doing with your free time?
“During my free time, I love to snuggle on the couch and watch movies with my family.”

What would you like printed on your gravestone?
“Here lies a lady who loved to laugh, mingle, and be loved.” 

What’s your favorite song? Why?
“My favorite song is ‘Golden’ by Jill Scott. This song is so beautiful because it’s about being happy, free, and positive. Whenever I hear this song I feel happy and blessed.” 

What’s your idea of a perfect day?
“My perfect day would entail being able to sleep late, dining out, and enjoying the afternoon sunshine.” 

What do you like about your job?
“I like that I assist people in being able to effectively communicate their needs and wants to friends and family.”

Tell us about your spouse:
“My husband’s name is Laconia Higgs III. He is very handsome, intelligent, and funny. He is a Captain in the U.S. Air Force. He is also a member of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Incorporated, which is a service organization. He is very friendly and will talk to anyone for hours.”

Tell about a time your were nervous:
“I remember being very nervous while waiting for my national speech/language pathology exam score.” 

If you could redo one moment in life, what would it be? Why?
“I wouldn’t change anything. I think it’s better to learn from past experiences.” 

Name one thing you like about yourself. Why?
“I like my outgoing personality!”

Compiled by Laurie Stone