Four N.M. newspapers win ‘best of show’

The Associated Press

The Associated Press
ALBUQUERQUE — The Albuquerque Tribune, Hobbs News-Sun, The Durango Herald and Clovis News Journal won top honors Saturday in the New Mexico Associated Press Managing Editors annual contest.
Awards for excellence in news coverage for 2004 were given in three circulation divisions for newspapers in New Mexico, as well as those along the state borders that receive the New Mexico state AP wire.
In the largest circulation division, The Albuquerque Tribune won five first-place awards, for spot news photo, business writing, graphics/illustrations, sports photo and photo essay, as well as best-of-show award.
The Santa Fe New Mexican won six first place awards, for editorials, continuing coverage, investigative reporting, front page/section front, headlines, and web site.
The Albuquerque Journal took first-place honors for columns, sports writing and science writing.
The Las Cruces Sun-News won for feature writing and feature photo.
The El Paso Times won in spot news.
In the second-largest circulation category, the Hobbs News-Sun and The Durango Herald tied for best of show.
In that division, The Daily Times of Farmington garnered six first-place awards: for spot news, investigative reporting, business writing, columns, feature photo and front page/section front.
The Durango Herald won for editorials, photo essay and web site, and tied for best of show in the circulation category.
The Hobbs News Sun won for sports writing, science writing, graphics/illustrations. It shared best-of-show honors with the Durango paper.
The Gallup Independent won for continuing coverage and sports photo.
The Roswell Daily Record won for feature writing and spot news photo.
In the smaller-paper circulation division, the Clovis News Journal won best of show for the fourth straight year, taking first place in eight categories: continuing coverage, investigative reporting, columns, sports writing, graphics/illustrations, spot news photo, photo essay, and tied for best web site.
The Portales News-Tribune won for business writing and tied for best web site.