E.U. constitution was short on political inspiration

Freedom Newspapers

I t wasn’t exactly the French Revolution, but French voters’
decision Sunday to reject the European Union constitution is as
revolutionary an action as one might find in Europe these days. It’s all for the good, as we see it, even though the reasons for the rejection weren’t entirely laudable.
A coalition of the political fringes, left and right, combined to reject the constitution, while French elites of the center-left and center-right embraced adoption of the lengthy, convoluted document, which was long on bureaucratese and short on political inspiration.
The American Constitution, which inspired not only our new nation but continues to inspire people the world over, was dedicated to the pithy, easily grasped idea that individuals are born with certain unalienable rights, and that the government would be limited to a few defined functions, most notably protecting individual, God-given rights.
Now that’s something worth fighting for, or at least worth supporting in a vote. The European Union constitution is what columnist George Will calls “an incoherent jumble of policies” governing minor legislative actions and making promises of rights — not the unalienable “negative” rights Thomas Jefferson promised, but the modern, “positive” welfare-state rights.
Many French voters were angry at attempts to shift sovereignty from Paris to Brussels, where yet another layer of unaccountable bureaucrats would control their lives. Others of those surveyed were concerned mostly about losing their cushy, government-provided benefits. Still others worried about immigration from the East, whereby low-skill Poles and Turks would take their union jobs.
The French vote puts the kibosh on this constitution, which had been in the works for 2 1/2 years. Every nation had to approve it for the document to go into effect.
The EU had promised from its earliest days to be solely an economic union, which made some sense. But critics who said it would devolve into a political union were proved correct. Consider it in these terms: What if the North American Free Trade Agreement morphed into a political union between Canada, the United States and Mexico, with a new government run by bureaucrats headquartered, say, in Montreal? Americans would no doubt reject such a development idea and certainly can understand why the French are troubled by something similar.

Contact your public officials:

CITY OF PORTALES
Mayor: Orlando Ortega Jr.
100 West First Street
Portales 88130
562-2112
orlando.ortega@enmu.edu

City Manager: Debbie Lee
356-6662, ext. 10
dlee@portalesnm.org

Alfredo Bachicha, Ward A Councilor
356-8729  
al_bachicha@yahoo.com
                     
Robert De Los Santos, Ward B Councilor  
359-1797
delossr1@notes.horacemann.com
                     
Ronald L. Jackson, Ward C Councilor  
356-6601
rjackson@portalesnb.com
                     
Jake J. Lopez, Ward A Councilor
356-6695  
                     
Michael G. Miller, Ward D Councilor
356-8668
mike.miller@yucca.net
                     
Dianne Y. Parker, Ward D Councilor 
356-6641
dparker@portalesschools.com
                     
Donald K. Shafer, Ward C Councilor
356-4008
pshafer@yucca.net
                     
Gary Watkins, Ward B Councilor
356-2633
shortman103@hotmail.com
                     
Frederick Arnold, Municipal Judge 
356-4923
farnold@portalesschools.com
judge@pdrpip.com

ROOSEVELT COUNTY
County Courthouse
109 West First Street
Portales 88130-5969
356-5307

County manager: Charlene Hardin
356-5307
chardin@rooseveltcounty.com

Thomas Clark, Commissioner District 3
273-4354
tclark@rooseveltcounty.com

Gene Creighton, Commissioner District 4
gcreighton@rooseveltcounty.com
274-6363

Paul Grider, Commissioner District 5
253-4561

Dennis Lopez, Commissioner District 1
356-0485
lopezdennis2001@yahoo.com

David Sanders, Commissioner District 2
276-8368
dcsanders@yucca.net

Thomas Gossett, County Sheriff
sheriffgossett@yucca.net

Janet Collins, County Clerk
356-5307
jcollins@rooseveltcounty.com

Portales Schools:
Dr. James Holloway, Superintendent
501 South Abilene
Portales 88130
356-6641
jholloway@portalesschools.com

Priscilla Mestas, Assist. Superintendent
Director of Instruction
501 South Abilene
Portales 88130
356-6641
pmestas@portalesschools.com

Portales School Board
David Brooks, Member District 4
356-4840
dbrooks@portalesschools.com

Inez Rodriguez, President District 2
359-0148
irodriguez@portalesschools.com

Steve Davis, Vice President District 3
356-3716
sdavis@portalesschools.com

Mary Lou Rowley, Member District 5
356-5943
mrowley@portalesschools.com

Rod Savage, Secretary District 1
356-5102
rsavage@portalesschools.com