Life Story: Bill Joy

Your name: William (Bill) Joy.
Your job: Retired teacher/athletic trainer.
Your age (and Birth Date): 69 years old; Sept. 15, 1935.
Your hometown: Chapin, Ill.
Your family: Wife; Marilyn, Daughter; Lori Roberts, Grandsons; Tyler Roberts and Kodi Joy.
Your hobbies and groups you are involved with, volunteer work: I hunt, fish and play golf. If I get all that done, I don’t have much time left after I take care of my three acres and two saddle horses.
 
What do you think of Portales?
“Portales is a great place to live. The weather is the best, we don’t have severe weather and you can be outside most every day of the year.”

What do you visualize your life being like in 10 years?
“I hope my health will hold up so I can continue to travel, play golf and enjoy my retirement.”

Tell us about your parents:
“Dad spent all his life as a farmer. Mom taught home economics after the kids were all in school.”

Who is someone you admire in life? Why?
“I admire the people who do real manual labor type work for a living. They are really the people who hold this country together and they receive the least credit for what they do.”

What is your greatest hope?
“I hope that I live to be a ripe old age and have the kind of health that I can really enjoy.”

Tell us about your greatest individual accomplishment:
“When I graduated from high school my folks wanted me to go to college. I wanted a job and work so I finally finished college and really made my folks happy.”

When you were a kid, what did you think you would be doing as an adult?
“Farming. Since I grew up on a farm and that was all that I knew and did.”
 
What is your favorite TV show?
“Anything that the college athlete participates in; football, basketball, softball, baseball (boys or girls). I spent over 30 years either playing or working in college athletics and I love to see them compete.”
 
What is your favorite book?
“I have copies of all of Louis L’Amour collection of Western books. I enjoy them all and have read many of them more than once.”

What is your favorite smell?
“Freshly mowed hay and freshly plowed ground.”

What do you enjoy doing with your free time?
“Hunting, fishing, and playing golf or anything that allows me to be outdoors. I also enjoy working in my garden.”

If you could go on an adventure, what would it entail?
“I would go to Alaska to Kodiak Island and hunt grizzly bears.”

What would you like printed on your gravestone?
“It’s not what he took when he left this world, but what he left behind when he left.”

What is your favorite song?
“I love to listen to the old country and western songs sung by the favorite old time singers.”

What is your idea of a perfect day?
“Get up in the morning refreshed, put in a days work and feel like you have accomplished something when you go to bed.”
 
What did you like about your job?
“It was really enjoyable to see athletes compete, watch them work through an injury, play with pain and do the very best they could.”

Name one thing you like about yourself:
“What you see is what you get. There will be no sugar coating and I will stand by my word. A hand shake is fine with me. If you can’t trust me, don’t hang in my circle.”

— Compiled by Laurie Stone