ENMU’s Gerleve repeats LSC javelin title

PNT staff

STEPHENVILLE, Texas — Eastern New Mexico University junior Zach Gerleve repeated his 2005 championship in men’s javelin in the Lone Star Conference track meet on Saturday, leading a 1-3-4 finish in the event for the Greyhounds with a toss of 192 feet, 6 1/4 inches.

ENMU scored more than half of its points (20) in that event, finishing last in the six-team meet with 38 team points. Abilene Christian rolled to the team championship with 206 points, followed by Angelo State 162, Texas A&M-Kingsville 121 1/2, Texas A&M-Commerce with 69 1/2 and host Tarleton State with 53.

Logan Capps finished third in the event at 179-7 1/4, while Aaron Carper was fourth at 177-2. Jason Simkmons of Angelo State placed second with a best throw of 181-10.

Gerleve, from Truth or Consequences, won the event in 2005 by going 194-3. He finished second his freshman year with a throw of 178-9 1/2.

His career best is 196-4, done earlier this month at McMurry’s Indian Relays. That throw made him a provisional qualifier for the NCAA Division II nationals.

ENMU posted a 3-6 finish in the 3,000 steeplechase, with Felix Boit finishing in 9:51.73 and Olando Sanchez in 10:08.08. Guy Koholo was fourth in the 800 in 1:57.26; Hernandez placed fifth in the 10,000 in 35:24.32, and Boit was fifth in the 5,000 in 15:35.85.

The Hounds placed fifth in the 1,600 relay, with Casey Blevins, Daniel Booker, Terrence Allen and Greg Jackson running 3:48.95, and they were sixth in the 400 relay with Allen, Capps, Michael Fields and Olie Fitts finishing in a time of 46.07.

ENMU’s women finished last with three points. Abilene Christian also dominated that competition with 290 points to 167 for Angelo State, 98 for Kingsville and 62 each for Tarleton and Texas A&M-Commerce.

Three Zias came up with sixth-place finishes — Lisa Lopez with a time of 15:02.93 in the 3,000 steeplechase; the 400 relay team of Kim Brackens, Brittany Bauner, Shakeyah Powell and Lopez in 55 seconds, and the 1,600 relay team of Bauner, Brackens, Lopez and Powell in 4:07.50.