Macknicki makes LSC second team

Freedom Newspapers

RICHARDSON, Texas — Eastern New Mexico University junior outside hitter Jessie Macknicki has been named to the All-Lone Star Conference South Division second-team in volleyball, released on Wednesday by the league office.

Macknicki, a junior from Palmer, Alaska, who transferred to ENMU this year from Southwestern Oregon Community College, was the Zias’ only representative on the squad. ENMU went 6-27 this season (1-9 South) and dropped its final 15 matches.

The 5-foot-5 Macknicki was the Zias’ team leader this season in kills (407) and digs (402). She posted team-highs of 17 kills and 17 digs in Tuesday’s season-ending 3-1 loss at Lubbock Christian.


South Division

First team
Name, school Pos. Yr.
Abbie Lowry, Abilene Christian OH Jr.
Libby Garza, West Texas A&M S Sr.
Jessica Scherr, West Texas A&M OH Sr.
Alesha Bourgo, Tarleton St. OH Jr.
Julie Hamilton, Tarleton St. MB Sr.
Lauren Leone, Abilene Christian MB So.
Rachel Altman, West Texas A&M RS Sr.

Second team
Name, school Pos. Yr.
Chelsea Zunker, A&M-Kingsville MB Fr.
Jessie Macknicki, ENMU OH Jr.
Heidi Scheopner, A&M-Kingsville S/RS Jr.
Kelly Culley, West Texas A&M MB So.
Megan Spivey, West Texas A&M MB Sr.
Natalie Johnson, West Texas A&M OH Fr.

Honorable mention
Abilene Christian: Liz Snoddy, L, Jr.; Malia Plumlee, DS, Sr.; Ericka Dickinson, S, Fr.; Erin Curry, OH, Fr. Angelo State: Mallory Honeycutt, MB, Jr.; Tess Brindock, S, So. Tarleton State: Christina Ortiz, S, Sr.; Allison Hill, OH, So.; Amy Rice, MB, Sr.; Tenesha Robinson, RS, Sr. Texas A&M-Kingsville: Danyelle Godfrey, MB, Sr.; Kristin Chancellor, RS/OH, Fr.; Kirby Krueger, S, Fr. West Texas A&M: Sara Contreras, L, So.

Special awards
Player of the year: Abbie Lowry, Abilene Christian. Libero of the year: Sara Contreras, West Texas A&M. Freshman of the year: Chelsea Zunker, Texas A&M-Kingsville. Coach of the year: Tony Graystone, West Texas A&M.