2-19-08 ENMU Briefs

Faculty / Alumni
• Music Department professors Lindsay Beasley, flute; Tracy Carr, oboe, Tamara Raatz, clarinet; Michael Ellzey, trumpet; Bruce Keeling, trombone, and Neil Rutland, percussion, performed an all Wagner Concert with the Roswell Symphony on Feb. 9 at Pearson Auditorium in Roswell.

• The newly-formed ENMU faculty Woodwind Trio, featuring Lindsay Beasley, flute; Tracy Carr, oboe, and Tamara Raatz, clarinet, presented several clinics and sectionals for the music students at Ruidoso High School, Ruidoso Middle School, and the Capitan schools on Feb. 12. The Trio then performed a full-length chamber music concert that evening at the Ruidoso Public Library as part of the Ruidoso Chamber Music Festival.

• Donald Elder III, professor of history, portrayed Abraham Lincoln at James Elementary School in Portales last Tuesday, and this Monday portrayed Abe at the elementary school in Muleshoe. He also participated in the African-American Read-a-thon on campus on Friday.

• Michael Shaughnessy interviewed Sol Stern about school choice not being enough.

ENMU to host faculty jazz recital
The Department of Music is presenting a faculty jazz recital of swing, bebop and modern jazz at 7 p.m. on Friday in Buchanan Hall inside the Music Building.

The features include compositions by Thelonious Monk, Duke Ellington, Miles Davis and many others.

Performing will be Christopher Beaty, ENMU assistant professor of music, on saxophone and flute; Johannes Bjerregaard from Lubbock on piano; Travis Erwin, ENMU adjunct professor of bass/guitar, on bass; Neil Rutland, ENMU percussion instructor, on drums; and ENMU student Delbert Anderson on trumpet.

Admission is free and open to the public.

Information: Kathi Fraze at 562-2377.

ENMU hosting debate qualifier
Eastern New Mexico University is the host to the 2008 American Forensic Association District IX qualifier for the National Debate Tournament. The tournament is scheduled for Feb. 23-24 in the Campus Union Building.

Teams participating include: the University of Wyoming, Weber State University, University of Nevada-Las Vegas, Idaho State University, University of Denver, Arizona State University and Eastern New Mexico University.

Visitors are welcome. The competition will begin at 9 a.m. on Saturday and end after 4 p.m. on Sunday.