Southeastern wallops Greyhounds

Freedom New Mexico

A pitching duel was breaking out on Sunday at Greyhound Field, and all of a sudden it turned into a slugfest.

Leading 2-1, Southeastern Oklahoma erupted for three homers and eight runs in the top of the fifth and managed to hang on for a 22-12 win over Eastern New Mexico University to gain a split of their four-game Lone Star Conference baseball series.

Junior first baseman Trey Wingo went 4-for-5 with two doubles, two homers and seven RBIs for the Savage Storm (3-7, 3-5 LSC). Southeastern pounded out 28 hits, including eight doubles and five homers.

In the series, ENMU (8-4, 2-2) outscored the Savage Storm 49-48 and the teams combined for 126 hits, with 50 going for extra bases.

Wingo’s two-run homer in the first off Evan Orsak (2-1) held until the fifth, when the first eight Southeastern hitters combined to turn it into a 10-1 game. Wingo blasted a three-run homer, his fourth long ball of the series, with second baseman Scott Hancock and catcher Ryan Bowen adding two-run shots later in the frame.

The Hounds responded with five-run innings in the fifth and eighth, but they couldn’t keep the Savage Storm off the scoreboard long enough to get close.

Bowen, the No. 8 hitter, went 5-for-6 with four RBIs while Hancock finished 4-for-7 and drove in three runs. Shortstop Randall Clay, who relieved Southeastern starter Nathan Johnson (1-1) in the eighth, was 4-for-6 and hit a three-run homer in the eighth.

ENMU collected 17 hits, but none for extra bases over the first six innings. Third baseman Derrick Kennedy went 3-for-4 and drove in three runs, center fielder Jonathon Marbury hit a pair of two-run singles and catcher Paden Vendrely was 3-for-5 with two RBIs.

Johnson threw 138 pitches before coming out after a leadoff walk in the bottom of the eighth. In Saturday’s doubleheader sweep by ENMU, neither Savage Storm starter managed to get through the first inning.

Lone Star Conference
SE Oklahoma 22, ENMU 12
SE Oklahoma 200 081 434 — 22 28 5
ENMU 010 050 051 — 12 17 1
Nathan Johnson, Randall Clay (8), Brady Huckabee (9) and Ryan Bowen; Evan Orsak, Johnathon Wise (5), Tyler Doughty (6), Antwhan Yazzie (7), Keith Balderaz (7) and Paden Vendrely. W — Johnson (1-1). L — Orsak (2-1). DP — Southeastern Oklahoma 1. LOB — Southeastern Oklahoma 11, Eastern New Mexico 7. 2B — Southeastern Oklahoma: Cody Pearce, Josh Rorez, Trey Wingo 2, Robbie Morris, Scott Hancock, Bowen 2. Eastern New Mexico: Clayton Young, Derrick Kennedy, Vendrely. Mitch Wolfe. 3B — Eastern New Mexico: Young. HR — Southeastern Oklahoma: Clay (3), Wingo 2 (4), Hancock (1), Bowen (1). T — 3:21. A — 220.