Five Oklahoma schools leaving Lone Star after 2010-11

The Associated Press

RICHARDSON, Texas — Five Oklahoma schools that have already announced they are leaving the Lone Star Conference now will depart after the 2010-11 school year.

Conference Commissioner Stan Wagnon made the announcement Wednesday after a meeting of the NCAA Division II league’s council of presidents in Dallas.

Central Oklahoma and Northeastern State plan to leave the Lone Star for the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association, which they will join starting with the 2012-13 school year. A Central Oklahoma spokesman says that timeline has not changed.

Southeastern Oklahoma State, Southwestern Oklahoma State and East Central are forming a new Division II conference with six Arkansas schools.

The presidents of the 11 remaining Lone Star schools adopted a pledge of commitment to the league. Of those 11 schools, nine are in Texas with one each in Oklahoma and New Mexico.