Six ENMU runners earn All-LSC

RICHARDSON, Texas — Six members of Eastern New Mexico University's cross country teams have been named for All-Lone Star Conference recognition.

The top 15 runners in both the men's and women's races last Saturday at Lawton, Okla., earned All-LSC recognition.

ENMU's men won the team title for the second consecutive year and had five runners in the top 15. They were led by senior Isaiah Samoei of Eldoret, Kenya, the individual champion in the event. Also representing the Greyhounds were sophomore Kaspars Briska of Riga, Latvia (fourth); junior Kevin Roa of Salinas, Calif. (eighth); junior Trevor Merhege of Espanola (11th), and junior Patrick Lueras of Los Lunas (13th).

Briska, a transfer from Cloud County (Kan.) Community College, was named the LSC newcomer of the year. Samoei won that award for the Hounds in 2011.

ENMU's women finished fifth in the league meet, and the Zias placed junior Brittany Buchanan of Albuquerque on the all-conference squad after she finished seventh last weekend. Her time of 22 minutes, 43 seconds in the 6K run was 1:41 better than in 2011, when she finished 36th.

West Texas A&M used a 1-2-3 individual finish, led by Kenyan junior Brenda Sindet, to notch the program's first LSC title. The Lady Buffs also had five runners on the all-conference squad.


Note: in order of finish at LSC meet.


Isaiah Samoei, Sr., Eastern New Mexico; Dylan Doss, So., West Texas A&M; Ty Doty, So., Tarleton State; Kaspers Briska, So., Eastern New Mexico; Baptiste Moreu, Jr., West Texas A&M; Dorian McCradic, Fr., Texas A&M-Commerce; Chase Rathke, So., Tarleton State; Kevin Roa, Jr., Eastern New Mexico; Miles Joslin, Jr., Tarleton State; Jamin Goecker, So., Angelo State; Trevor Merhege, Jr., Eastern New Mexico; Xavier King, Fr., Abilene Christian; Patrick Lueras, Jr., Eastern New Mexico; Patrick Scheuchzer, So., West Texas A&M; Luis Romero, Fr., Texas A&M-Commerce.

Special recognition

Team champion: Eastern New Mexico. Newcomer of the year: Kaspers Brika, Eastern New Mexico. Freshman of the year: Dorian McCradic, Texas A&M-Commerce. Coach of the year: Darren Flowers, West Texas A&M.


Brenda Sindet, Jr., West Texas A&M; Mireia Guarner, Fr., West Texas A&M; Amber Moore, Jr., West Texas A&M; Step.hanie Glatt, Sr., Incarnate Word; Annifer Flores, So., Angelo State; Emeline Crutcher, Sr., Angelo State; Brittany Buchanan, Jr., Eastern New Mexico; Janel Campbell, Jr., Midwestern State; Ashley Flores, Jr., Midwestern State; Irma Garza, So., Incarnate Word; Emma Love, So., West Texas A&M; Michelle Krezonoski, So., Midwestern State; Jessica Blakely, Sr., West Texas A&M; Celeste Meyer, So., Tarleton State; Adriana Garcia, Fr., Incarnate Word.

Special recognition

Team champion: West Texas A&M. Newcomer of the year: Abigail Gonzalez, Midwestern State. Freshman of the year: Mireia Guarner, West Texas A&M. Coach of the year: Kimberly Dudley, West Texas A&M.

Speak Your Mind