ENMU squads picked for 10th in LSC

RICHARDSON, Texas — Eastern New Mexico University's basketball teams were picked for 10th place this week in the Lone Star Conference preseason polls.

The ENMU men were last in their 10-team circuit while the women finished ahead of Texas A&M-Commerce on the women's side, which includes 11 teams.

Tarleton State and Midwestern State shared last season's LSC title, and the Texans and Mustangs are expected to battle it out again. TSU earned 269 points in the balloting of coaches, sports information directors and media representatives while MSU had 262, and each team collected 12 of the 29 first-place votes.

West Texas A&M wasn't far off in third place with 246 points and four first-place votes, while Angelo State had the other first-place tally despite an eighth-place projection. ENMU finished with 85 points, six behind A&M-Commerce.

On the women's side, Tarleton had 323 points and 20 of 31 first-place votes, while WT was second with 303 points and seven first-place votes. The TexAnns notched the program's first LSC regular-season and tournament champions last season.

Midwestern was third and had one first-place vote, while Angelo State (fourth) had two first-place tallies and Abilene Christian (seventh) picked up one. The Zias received 93 points in the balloting, five behind Texas A&M-Kingsville but comfortably ahead of Commerce (41).

West Texas A&M senior Donald Sims for the men and Abilene Christian junior Mackenzie Lankford for the women were selected the conference preseason players of the year.

The top eight teams advance to the LSC postseason tournament scheduled for March 6-9 in Allen, Texas. The tournament winners will receive the LSC's automatic berths in the NCAA Division II tournament.



Team (1st-place votes) Pts

1. Tarleton State (12) 269

2. Midwestern State (12) 262

3. West Texas A&M (4) 246

4. Incarnate Word 166

5. Cameron 139

6. Texas A&M-Kingsville 130

7. Abilene Christian 112

8. Angelo State (1) 95

9. Texas A&M-Commerce 91

10. Eastern New Mexico 85

Preseason player of the year — Donald Sims, Sr., West Texas A&M.


Team (1st-place votes) Pts

1. Tarleton State (20) 323

2. West Texas A&M (7) 303

3. Midwestern State (1) 262

4. Angelo State (2) 212

5. Incarnate Word 211

6. Texas Woman's 176

7. Abilene Christian (1) 170

8. Cameron 157

9. Texas A&M-Kingsville 98

10. Eastern New Mexico 93

11. Texas A&M-Commerce 41

Preseason player of the year — Mackenzie Langford, Jr., Abilene Christian.

Speak Your Mind