ENMU women’s soccer team picked for last place in LSC

CMI staff

RICHARDSON, Texas — The Eastern New Mexico University women’s soccer team didn’t fare any better in the Lone Star Conference’s preseason poll than its volleyball counterparts had a day earlier.

The Zias were picked for sixth out of six teams in the LSC poll, a complilation of coaches, sports information directors and various media around the league released by the conference office on Wednesday.

On top of that, ENMU was the only team to not receive a first-place vote.

On Monday, the Zias’ volleyball squad was tabbed for last place in that sport.

Defending champion West Texas A&M (13-7-1, 10-4 LSC a year ago) was picked to repeat its title, collecting 10 of 16 first-place votes and 84 total points to 75 for Midwestern State (three and 75, respectively).

The other three teams — Angelo State, Texas A&M-Commerce and Texas Woman’s — each received one first-place vote.

The Zias (5-13, 4-10 in 2012) are being led by third-year coach Todd Padgett.

Preseason awards given by the conference went to Midwestern State sophomore midfielder/defender Ashley Cottrell, offensive player of the year; Angelo State junior defender Caitlyn Conawy and Texas Woman’s sophomore defender Sarah Deeb, co-defensive players of the year, and TWU junior Lindsey Cisco, goalkeeper of the year.

Regular-season play begins in early September, with each team playing the other five home-and-home in a 10-match LSC slate.

The Zias open the season on Sept. 6 and 7 with back-to-back matches against Regis and Western State. Their home opener is slated for Sept. 10 against Central Washington at the ENMU pitch while the LSC opener, also at home, comes on Sept. 27 against Texas A&M-Commerce.

Team (1st-place votes)    Pts.
1. West Texas A&M (10)    84
2. Midwestern State (3)    75
3. Angelo State (1)    71
4. Texas A&M-Commerce (1)    42
5. Texas Woman’s (1)    41
6. Eastern New Mexico    23
Preseason awards
Offensive player of the year — Ashley Cottrell, So., MF/D, Midwestern State
Defensive player of the year (co-players) — Caitlyn Conaway, Jr., D, Angelo State and Sarah Deeb, So., D, Texas Woman’s
Goalkeeper of the year — Lindsey Sisco, Jr., GK, Texas Woman’s

Speak Your Mind