Zias’ Frye named LSC freshman of the year

CMI staff

Eastern New Mexico outside hitter Lauren Frye was named the Lone Star Conference’s freshman of the year Wednesday, as the conference announced its season awards at its championship banquet Wednesday night.

Frye is the first Zia to win the freshman of the year award since Tina Mayo in 1991, and became the third Zia to earn a Lone Star Conference postseason award. Jennifer Goble, now married to current Zia coach Sia Poyer, was the LSC North Player of the Year in 1995.

A native of Amissville, Va., Frye led the Zias with 318 kills, and earned an LSC offensive player of the week award in October.

Frye was named to the conference’s second team, where she was joined by senior libero Hayley Couch. Couch, a native of Santa Fe, Texas, led the conference and was 15th in the nation with 547 digs. She is the first player in school history to record two 500-dig seasons, and was named LSC defensive player of the week the same week as Frye.

Freshman outside hitter Courtney Lawson, who played at Rio Rancho Cleveland, was an honorable mention selection.

In other individual awards:

• West Texas A&M’s Larau Iwuchukwu was named defensive player of the year, while Jason Skoch was the coach of the year.

• Libero of the year was Emily Klein of Tarleton State.

• The offensive player of the year award was shared by Maddie Huth of Angelo State and Stacie Murrah of Tarleton State.

• Texas A&M-Commerce’s Jordan Neal was picked setter of the year, and teammate Amy Davault was named LSC newcomer of the year.

The Zias, in their first season under Poyer, went 8-19 overall with a 4-12 record in the LSC. The team grabbed the LSC’s eighth seed, and face top-seeded WT 7:30 p.m. (CST) in the conference tournament, hosted by the Lady Buffs.


All-LSC First Team

Laura Iwuchukwu, West Texas A&M, Sr., MB

Maddie Huth, Angelo State, Sr., MB

Stacie Murrah, Tarleton State, Sr., RS

Marcela Alves, Texas Woman’s, Sr., MB

Halie Harton, West Texas A&M, Sr., OH

Amy Davault, Texas A&M-Commerce, Jr., OH

Maggi Jo Keffury, Angelo State, Jr., S

Chloe Tate, Texas Woman’s, Sr., MB

Kelsey Washington, Texas A&M-Kingsville, Jr., OH

Jordan Neal, Texas A&M-Commerce, Sr., S

Caitlin Wallace, Midwestern State, Sr., MB

Lexi Davis, West Texas A&M, So., MB


All-LSC Second Team

Emily Klein, Tarleton State, Sr., L

Hayley Couch, Eastern New Mexico, Sr., L

Lauren Bevan, West Texas A&M, Jr., OH

Kameryn Hayes, West Texas A&M, Jr., S

Shelby Wilt, Angelo State, Jr., L

Kelle Carver, Cameron, So., RS

Jazmine Green, Tarleton State, Sr., OH

Arielle Bond, Angelo State, So., OH

Danielle Barker, Tarelton State, Sr., S

Kayla Rivero, Texas Woman’s Jr., S

Lauren Frye, Eastern New Mexico, Fr., RS


All-LSC Honorable Mention

Kayla Bond, Texas A&M-Commerce, Sr., MB

Dedra Brown, Texas A&M-Kingsville, Sr., OH

Stephanie Johns, Texas A&M-Kingsville, Jr., MB

Morgan Wilson, Texas Woman’s, Jr., L

Marija Jovanovic, Midwestern State, Sr., RS

Katie Covell, Tarleton State, R-Jr., OH

Kaelen Valdez, Angelo State, Sr., OH

Sarah Garfield, Midwestern State, Fr., MB

Ciara Holmes, Texas A&M-Commerce, Sr., RS

Courtney Lawson, Eastern New Mexico, Fr., OH

Speak Your Mind